Cllr Rennie elected new Leader of Havant Borough Council

Wednesday, 19 May, 2021

Cllr Alex Rennie has been elected as the new Leader of Havant Borough Council. 

The Conservative member for Bondfields was appointed to the position at the Full Council meeting at the Public Service Plaza on Wednesday 19 May. 

He steps up to replace Cllr Michael Wilson who chose not to stand again as Leader after three years in the role. 

Cllr Rennie said: “I am honoured to have been chosen as the Leader of this council and I am looking forward to getting to work and representing the people of this borough. 

“I want to thank Cllr Wilson for his years of dedicated service as Leader and for the work he has done to make the council the vibrant and successful organisation it is now. 

“There is a lot of hard work ahead, especially as we support our communities in their recovery from the coronavirus pandemic, but I am confident we can meet these challenges and make the borough a better place for our residents and businesses.” 

Cllr Rennie was elected to the council in May 2018 and was previously the Cabinet Lead for Communications and Communities. 

On stepping down, Cllr Wilson said: “I am proud of what has been achieved during my time as Leader, particularly over the last 14 months as we responded to the demands of the pandemic.  

"It has been a privilege to lead the Council, but as the restrictions relax and we head to a more normal life I believe it is right for a new leader to take on the task of recovery.   

“I am very happy to see Cllr Rennie take the reins and I know he will work tirelessly to improve the lives of our residents.”  

Following his election as Leader Cllr Rennie has appointed a new Cabinet, as follows: 

  • Cllr Narinder Bains - Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Lead for Community Safety and Organisational Development  
  • Cllr Clare Satchwell - Cabinet Lead for Planning, Hayling Seafront Strategy and Coastal Management 
  • Cllr Lulu Bowerman - Cabinet Lead for Capita and Commercial Contracts 
  • Cllr Gwen Robinson - Cabinet Lead for Housing, Communities and CIL  
  • Cllr Tim Pike - Cabinet Lead for Finance, Regeneration and Estates  
  • Cllr Julie Thain-Smith - Cabinet Lead for Environment & Climate Change